Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno



on October 8, 2017
I found the sailing parts of the story both the most interesting and the most frustrating and disappointing. Matt Rutherford's claim to fame is that he sailed non-stop around the Americas, a truly amazing and marvellous feat of determination, skill and endurance and courage. Anyone doing that feat would deserve to be celebrated, and we would want to know how he or she did it, what were the preparation, the logistics, the navigation. That he also came from a troubled childhood and adolescence was remarkable as well.

Like some others, my initial interest in the video was in how it was done and especially in the combination of the boat and the man to perform it. I found out about the video through the website of the American Vega Association. There are not many small sailboats that can be handled by one person that could make the voyage. Amazing that it did it. As Matt said in the video, by the end of the voyage almost all the equipment on the boat was damaged, destroyed or useless. That seems in part due not just to the strain of the voyage but to Matt's lack of preparation of the boat--there was no shakedown cruise, no testing of equipment, no familiarization! So only when the first wave washed over the boat did he find out that the deck fittings leaked! Matt's impulsive character enabled him to undertake the voyage. His strength and skill and determination enabled him to survive it. I would have liked to see much more about just how he did it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2017
Great Story!
Matt should be an inspiration to all young people.
Put down your phone.
Turn off that video game console.
Stop complaining about how everything is soooooooooo unfair.
Pry your lazy ass off the sofa and go do something with your life.
There is a whole world out there and you don't need anyone's permission to go find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2016
I dont think this amazing guy with ADHD expected that he would do so well and be so warmly welcomed and congratulated by so many people for his accomplishment in sailing around the Americas and in the smallest boat ever too!
Really shows you with determination and a WILL you can do what you set your mind to, even if you fall backwards, you get back up and push ahead again and again and again....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2016
Good movie to encourage a young person to straighten up. Lots of info about his mental disabilities, ADHD etc. Surprise twist about his early childhood upbringing. Too bad there was not more about the actual sailing. Barely mentioned the type boat, draft, displacement, and nothing about plotting the trip, sail assortment, best day's distance, nothing about the Pacific travel till around the horn, bare mention of the bird life or nothing about fish caught. Did he go near the Galopinos (sic) etc. Seeing his actual travel log and sailing decisions depending on weather would be great. I guess the video camera captured that. A truly remarkable young man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2017
Great documentary, shows what you can do if you are bold, and have a generous heart with limited resources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2017
Beautiful film (literally and figuratively) about a beautiful person. Very inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2016
This movie was a very pleasant surprise. I met Matt, briefly, at the Sailstice Encinal YC event a few years ago. I knew about his trip but like Herb McCormick, I was a skeptic and thought he was nuts. I came across this movie, last night and was actually blown away by the story. Fascinating portrait of a very interesting person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2017
Five stars! What an inspiring young man. His story is fascinating and his courage and determination are admirable. Great to spend an evening enjoying an uplifting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2016
Very strong. That guy fought a lot of things that people take for granted. How many people reading this could handle 3 days isolated with no other human contact or speech? He did over 300 days.

Strong.

Great doc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2017
A very enjoyable and absorbing documentary. Great to see a troubled young man find his way in life and then achieve something extraordinary. Inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here