Spring Deals Automotive Magazine Deals New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

on February 18, 2018
I honestly don't know how to start this review, not because I didn't like the book, but because I loved it so, so much.

Have you ever had that feeling that someone is squeezing your heart to the point that you feel it could burst? That's just what mine felt like while reading this beautiful story. Penelope took me to new hights with this story. Three friends who were inseparable throughout their teenage years, two boys attracted to the same girl who made a pack to never let their feelings show, until one of them breaks that pack and friendships change and life as they knew it would never be the same. But life happens and when Channing, the boy that was left behind, comes back into a heartbroken Amber's life new feelings develop and once again destiny will show them that even the best laid plans can change in a heartbeat.

The friendship between Channing and Amber was so pure despite the sexual desire they had for each other, the respect that they showed not only between them but to Rory was admirable. It also filled my heart with joy that the author included two characters as beautiful as Milo and Christine, I cried reading some of their parts, not because they saddened me but because she treated them with so much respect and love, just the way it should be.

There are so many emotions embossed in this story, one moment you could be laughing and the next crying. This is a love story, an incredibly well crafted love story with ups and downs and a few surprises along the way, with characters you want to get to know, you want to be friends with, with situations that could happen to any of us. It is a story with a bit of humor, a bit of sadness, a lot of joy and so much heart. My heart was happy by the end of the book, my soul was flying high.

This might be Penelope's best book yet.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2018
I’m going to be completely real in this review without spoiling anything. I’ll get to that in a second. Penelope Ward gave us Channing and Amber in Gentleman Nine with a completely new take on friends to lovers and it was awesome!

“‘I can’t fathom ever not wanting you like this.’ Hearing her say that tore me up inside, because it was a harsh reminder of the reality of this situation that I’d gotten us into.”

Amber is recently single and finds herself opening up her home to her childhood friend Channing. Her friend that’s been more of a brother, she couldn’t turn him away when he needed a place to stay during a contract for work. Immediately attracted to him, she finds another way to try and sate her desires in a very unique way.

”What we have feels…soul crushing.”

Channing has always had a thing for Amber. For the last nine years she was off limits. He wants to keep their relationship friends-only, but after finding her seeking an escort, he wants to not only protect her but make her an offer she can’t refuse...hopefully.

“When you love someone, you feel it in your soul, even when they’re not physically with you. “

Ok, here’s the realness. I wasn’t super feeling Gentleman Nine for the first few chapters. I was into it, but it wasn’t giving me the feels that I needed. It just kind of felt ordinary, nothing jumped out at me. But then it happened. The words she wrote hit me like a hammer to the head and I was left stunned. And it was so good and fresh and perfect! Penelope writes these stories that completely enrapture my mind and I can’t come out of her world until it’s over. She takes chances with subject matter character relationships that may not be for everyone but the work every time! Whenever I finish one of her books I find myself spending a couple of days contemplating the greatness I just read and think and think and think some more because it’s just so good!

“Love isn’t always only about the person who makes you feel the safest or even how much you care about someone. Sometimes, it’s about the person who ignites your soul...”

Gentleman Nine is full of fun banter, great friendships, sweet love, and sensational tear-inducing words. It was a fantastic ride (you’ll get it when you read it) and I didn’t want it to end!
review image
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2018

Gentleman Nine was phenomenal and I absolutely loved it! The storyline and characters were amazing, and I was hooked to this unique, sexy, emotional, and highly entertaining standalone friends-to-lovers romance from beginning to end. Penelope Ward is beyond talented and I have dearly loved each and every book I've read from her so far. Gentleman Nine has definitely been one of my top favorite novels from Ms. Ward to date, and I am so excited to read more!

   Channing and Amber were wonderful and I loved them and their story so much. I loved their personalities and red-hot chemistry together, and how their relationship progressed throughout. I loved reading the book from both Channing and Amber's POV, and I loved all of their banter and interactions with each other. As with every Penelope Ward book, there were plenty of shocking twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. Channing and Amber's story was surprisingly more emotional and heartbreaking than I was expecting, but I truly loved it from start to finish. There were a few parts that I didn't like all that much, but I understood why the author did what she did. The secondary characters were wonderful as well, and I immensely enjoyed their addition to the story. Gentleman Nine was honestly one of my top favorite books from Penelope Ward so far, and I was absolutely ecstatic with the conclusion to Channing and Amber's unforgettable story.

   Gentleman Nine was a unique, sexy, emotional, and addicting standalone friends-to-lovers romance, and I couldn't have loved it more! Penelope Ward did an extraordinary job with this book, and I was so freaking happy with the outcome to Channing and Amber's remarkable story. Penelope Ward is without a doubt one of my top favorite contemporary romance authors, and I can't wait to devour more of her amazing and addicting books!
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2018
Penelope Ward is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. I have read Drunk Dial & Dear Bridgette I Want You both amazing stories that I have read again and will do so again in the future as well as this one. What a journey Amber takes from beginning to end. Crushing heart break after crushing heart break. I wish I had someone to share experiences and conversations like Channing and Amber have in this book. Yes they kept certain things private but they were both startling frank and honest and open. I’ve never had the ease of sexual expression or that level of flirtation and to mix it with the security and comfort of friendship and acceptance made this an amazing read. Channing was adorable sexy insightful attentive and sensitive but most importantly the quality I have always liked most he was a Do man, what you Do shows who and what you are. He talked a mad game made effortless conversation and expressed him self well verbally but he followed everything with affection thoughtfulness and action. That was the sexiest part of him for me!!!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
One of my favorite genres to read is friends to lovers and that is what this book is about: three friends, Amber, Rory and Channing, who grew up together with both boys loving the girl…who will she choose? This book had all the feels and felt very realistic to me. As soon as Channing went off to college, Rory made his move and was with Amber for nine years. He broke things off at the same time Channing needed temporary housing due to a work assignment and moved in with Amber. I don’t want to give too much away because reading about their journey (both past and present) is what I liked the best about the book. At first you wanted to hate Rory, but towards the end when he reveals his motives, you feel for him and want him to be happy, too.

This was a very emotional read not only the interactions between the three friends, but also with Channing’s mom who isn’t well and needs his love and support, and the pain you feel for Amber having gone from being broken hearted, to hopeful, to distraught, and finally happy. I admired her character and her strength so much. One of the best things I liked about this book is that other than Rory’s mistake in not telling Amber the truth, they were all very open and honest about their feelings and expectations. That is so refreshing because so many books I read frustrate me because of people’s lack of trust and communication. I was also glad that Rory and Channing were able to clear the air as they had been friends for a long time.

I loved how Channing befriended a cat, how much he loved his mom, and how he was there for Amber when she needed him, how Amber works with special needs adults, and how Rory took care of his neighbor, Boris. Each character brought so much emotion and depth to the story that when it finally ended and Amber makes her choice, I was just mentally drained (in a good way.)

Gentleman Nine is a standalone and very well worth your time reading. Even though this book is about two men trying to win over the woman they both love, there was technically no cheating. I was very happy with the ending and hope to read more about some of the other characters in the book.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2018
I did NOT want this book to end! Without any spoilers, this book has everything that I enjoy in a romantic novel. Characters who are likable that have depth to them... Humor... heart... tenderness. And there’s not a sex scene or red room every other page ... no prude here but I really have gotten extremely tired of those books because they just get boring so quickly and I think the authors use sex as an excuse to not write a decent story. Am a new Penelope fan. Actually discovered her through a dual book she wrote with Vi Keeland called Stuck-up Suit which was such a fun book I started reading books from both the authors. When I read The premises of Gentleman I decided to download it the day it came out ... and was hooked immediately .....And had devoured it within a couple of days. I love Ms. Wards writing style...it’s refreshing to read a creative romantic novel that tosses enough twists and turns to make it extra special. Plus she really enables you to fall in love with her characters ....always so multi-dimensional. I even found myself tearing up in a couple places which I rarely do during your typical romance read. Also has some genuinely funny parts as well! If you’ve never read her before this would be a great book to start with and I would love to see this as a romcom movie one day!! Highly recommend Gentleman Nine!!!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
This book was simply AWESOME!! It was fun, the characters seemed like REAL, every day people(as do most of Penelope's characters) and I LOVED the story. I don't want to give any spoilers but I'll say this... At the beginning of the book, I was so mad at Rory. He dumped Amber after 9 years together. They had been childhood friends and actually weren't supposed to get together at all. You see, Rory and Channing had a pact that neither of them would pursue Amber because she was Channing's little sister's best friend. They were both interested in/infatuated with her as teenagers but they both made a pact that neither would pursue her. Well, Rory didn't hold up his end of the deal, and he and Amber got together. Channing comes home from college to find them in love and distances himself from both of them. Fast forward 9 years...and Channing is coming to Boston for work. He needs a place to stay for a few months and Amber has an open room.(Rory dumped her and she is living on her own now). She agrees to let him move in and she and Channing try to avoid their attraction to each other....until they can't anymore. Amber has ALWAYS had a crush on Channing--even when they were younger. Rory broke her heart and Channing comes along at just the right time to pick up the pieces. BUT THEN.........we find out WHY Rory left her. My heart broke for him....and for Amber , then for Channing. I was dying at one point because I wanted her to pick one of them--but in the next chapter, I had changed my mind...kind of!!!! THE ANGST almost killed me. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough to find out what happened. No matter what happened, someone was going to get hurt and I just wasn't ready for it. I was pleased with how it was all wrapped up and I LOVED the Epilogue!!!! READ THIS BOOK!! You won't be disappointed. I LOVED IT!!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
Gentleman Nine by Penelope Ward is the latest standalone romance by one of my absolute must-read favorite authors. A sexy and funny friends-to-lover romance that also has the surprising mix of angst and emotional turmoil that made these characters MORE. More real, more dimensional, more relatable, just MORE. Told in dual POV, this book was a devour-in-one-sitting, page-turner, addictive story between Channing and Amber.

Amber has crushed on Channing for as long as she can remember. He was her best friends brother. When her best friend dies in a tragic accident at 16, Channing and Amber found solace in each other and their own friendship blossomed while they were learning to deal with their loss.

Channing has always liked Amber. He has been drawn to her for as long as he can remember. When she ended up dating their other best friend Rory while he was away at college he learned to keep his distance, physically and emotionally. While never actually shutting hr out, he distanced himself from the pain of seeing them together, even though Rory knew Channing liked her and they had a pact to never act on their feelings.

Shortly after Rory and Amber split, Channing finds himself on assignment in Boston and rooming with Amber. Their friendship resurfaces and gets complicated fast. The emotion and angst in this book was phenomenal. Every word, every sentence just flowed so perfectly from the page. An absolute pleasure to read. Note, while their is an inkling of a love-triangle hidden in the pages of this story, it is not a hurtful one, if that makes any sense. I cannot stand love-triangles - I really detest them and will avoid books that have them. This one was so delicately and carefully approached and handled with such care to ALL of the characters it wasn't an issue for me. Enjoy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2018
I love reading about childhood best friends turning into lovers and this story has that, times TWO! Of course, in this case, two is not better than one... Amber is loved by two of her closest childhood guy friends, Rory and Channing, and she loves them both. The story begins with Amber suffering through a devastating heartbreak from an unexpected breakup with her longtime boyfriend, Rory. This lead to her friend, Annabelle, suggesting that she reaches out to a gentleman escort service to help her move on. Channing and Amber became closer friends again when his job brought him to Amber's town and he stayed with her for the duration of his contract. He found out about this contact and interfered so he became "Gentleman Nine". Amber disclosed to Gentleman Nine that she needed a release from the sexual tension she has from having her friend and childhood crush, Channing, living under the same roof as her and that's the start of Channing and Amber. The feelings they had for each other reignited. The choice then seems simple enough BUT of course that wouldn't be interesting enough of a story... it was such an emotional read! No one can escape unscathed. Definitely recommend this book. 😁
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2018
Omg I .. I don’t have words... I loved this book... but woman you seriously had me hyperventilating.... I was sooooo scared..
Amber, Channing & Rory we’re 3 peas in a pod.. both boys liked her.... but they made a pact.... neither would presue.... but when Channing went away for college Rory broke the pact and he & Amber fell in love.. fast forward 9 yrs.. Ambers heart has been broken and one of her best friends Channing just showed up on business for a couple months... with no where to stay Amber offers the spare room.. Amber is trying to get over her broken heart and thinking a one night stand may help... but what happens when Channing finds out that she when online to hire a male escort..???
You need to read this book!!!! As I said I loved this book... I loved Amber & Channing.. ❤️. and I really wanted to hate Rory but Penelope made me have the feels for him by the end....
thank you for the amazing read!!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here