Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 4, 2017
If I could give this no stars, I would. I purchased this 14 months ago based on consumer reports. It has completely stopped working. Hot in both top and bottom. Sears says 2 weeks to come out and just look at it. I've called an independent company to assess the repairs. I'm guessing $300 -
$500 to fix this piece of junk (yes, my review reflects the anger I feel about an expensive appliance quitting just over 2 months after the warranty expired). Meanwhile, I'm without a refrigerator. From what I've read, this is typical experience with this make/model. I would never buy this again and am sorry I made the decision to purchase this in the first place. Do yourself a favor and avoid this refrigerator. There are better more reliable ones out there.
44 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2017
This is the Kenmore Elite 74023. Very noisy. I can hear it from other rooms. It got worse over time. Since it has a linear compressor, it is on almost all the time. The "fix" is to spend $800-900 to get another noisy compressor. Stay away.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 8, 2017
I got mine 30 days ago. Right out of the box, it would not go below 40 degrees, with the control set to 34. Sears Service looked at it 4 times, and the 2nd visit, replaced the main board. After the main board, the fridge swings 37/38 to 42 degrees. and the Techs state it is within factory limits and I am good to go. Sears officially are calling it a good fridge and I now stuck with it. The Digital Temp Controls are a JOKE. This fridge, according to Sears Techs, can not cool below 37. and that is "normal". If you want a fridge that can, or will, cool to 34 degrees - this is NOT your fridge. They may as well just put a High and Low slider, like on my $500 beer fridge in the basement. it does cool to 34 degrees. Other then that, it is an absolutely beautiful machine!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 27, 2017
This refrigerator is a piece of junk. At 1 1/2 year old it died. They wanted to replace the compressor and condenser. They said the parts were under warranty and I had to pay the labor $350 later. The parts were on backorder for almost 2 months. They came and put them in. Still did not work. They came the next day the compressor was not hooked up. Then only the freezer worked. Sent him back again. So after 5 visits, 2 months, and $350 later I only have a working freezer. The refrigerator is 67 degrees. Sears says they can't do anything else and they are not going to fix it or replace it. Basically tough. This company has the worst customer service. DO NOT BUY ANY KENMORE PRODUCTS! It is a matter of time they go completely under anyway. And their service people are horrible and did I mention they gouged my hardwood floors.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2017
Thus far this refrigerator is everything advertised. We finally have enough space to find what we're looking for because everything isn't packed in like a sitcom closet about to explode when you open the door! The lighting inside the fridge is nice and bright and the shelves on each door hold more than I'd anticipated. Even the butter shelf is bigger than I'm used to as we're able to store butter and cream cheese blocks in there easily. I was afraid I might not like the freezer on the bottom, but I love it. Plus the three tiers in the freezer means I can always find what I'm looking for because things can't get too buried. My only issue, which is a pretty minor one, is that the sacrifice of having a small ice maker to have more storage space means a) the actual cubes themselves are smaller so they don't last as long in a big drink and b) i can no longer reach in and grab ice to add a few cubes to an existing drink or for other reasons as the bin is behind a latch inside the door. But this is a minor inconvenience for all the other plusses from such a well-designed and roomy fridge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2017
It's a great looking unit. However I don't like having to open both doors to open the drawer in the refridgerator. As for the freezer, you have to tug pretty hard to open it, and the top drawer tends to "hide". Not as easy to keep organized as I thought... Manufacturers are always trying new and different to keep sales up I suppose.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2017
2 evaperators, door shelves that actually holds stuff, looks and function that have me and my wife showing it to all our friends and family. It is big enough and well built. Some have commented on the maintenance required on the stainless exterior. However, we take turns cleaning it with stainless cleaner and enjoy knowing it is spotless and show room worthy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2017
We've had our frig nearly one year and at about the six month mark we had issues with the ice maker leaking, overflowing and freezing around the ice container. Two service calls and the replacement parts installed - no issues. Our second repair person was probably the genius in resolving this issue as he realized that the water pressure coming into the ice maker was too strong, a quick tweak of the flow and no issues ever since. If you are having this issue, I suggest lowering the pressure of your water valve going to the frig. We love our frig and I recommend this product if you are looking for a bottom freezer frig. It's LG technology at a lower Kenmore price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 14, 2017
I agree with the previous reviews. The Ice maker in the door broke three times and I am finally giving up. Buying a new refrigerator after the initial cost and over the fact that the design of the ice maker is horrible makes it certain that I will not buy a Kenmore ever again.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on November 19, 2017
We have a Sears Kenmore Elite. We bought it two years ago and the compressor quit. As I write this Sears is trying and I repeat, trying to locate a replacement compressor. We will never buy another Sears product. The technician that diagnosed the problem said that he has had to replace a number of compressors on the Elite model. We had to pay $370 upfront before part was even ordered. Sears cancelled the date for the technician to replace the compressor and that was when we were informed about the search for a compressor.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse