Spring Deals Automotive Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

TOP 100 REVIEWERon February 6, 2018
Ernt Allbright can’t run far enough to escape his demons. Going off-grid in Alaska, Ernt drags his wife, Cora, and his daughter, Leni, into a wilderness experience none of them are prepared for in an effort to start a new life. They must learn to garden, hunt, and gather as much food as possible to survive the long winter, guarding against bears, wolves, and other predators that would destroy their home. The townspeople donate livestock and helpfully train the small family in homesteading skills to improve their chances of holding on until spring. As time goes by, Leni finds new friendships even as her father alienates the townspeople. As the winter days shorten and daylight slips away, Ernt’s grip on his temper and sanity wanes and his family will pay the price.

There’s a lot of love in The Great Alone: a mother’s love, a friend’s love, a family’s love, romantic love, and dysfunctional love. Some of the romances are rock-solid and life-affirming. One romance is love at its best: patient, enduring, and indelible. However, the dysfunctional love that binds Ernt and Cora intersperses abusive episodes with declarations of love, regret, and broken promises.

The residents of Kaneq, Alaska, don’t understand why Leni’s mother doesn’t tell someone, doesn’t leave, doesn’t accept help, why she doesn’t stop loving her abusive husband. They don’t understand why Leni doesn’t leave her parents and escape to college. But I can relate. It takes years to grow past the fear of telling people that one of your parents is hurting the other or hurting you and your siblings. Hiding becomes ingrained. Your family closes its ranks and stands alone against the world. There’s a wall that must not be breached. Your family pretends that the bruises and broken bones are from accidents. It becomes normal to both love and fear your parent. I think Kristin Hannah beautifully captures the essence of that conflict and dichotomy.

I couldn’t sleep last night, and The Great Alone caught my eye as I was perusing Kindle books and nomming on a Skor bar hoping to feel sleep sneaking up on me. So quickly was I caught by this book that half my Skor bar still remains stranded on my bureau, abandoned when I nabbed my tablet and snuck to my recliner without waking the significant other. The story was so enthralling that I devoured it in one extended sitting broken only by puppy potty breaks.

The Great Alone is a chilling, emotionally wrenching roller coaster ride. Kristin Hannah has created characters that are believable and realistically populate her vision of a child caught between a parent she loves and cannot abandon and a parent who claims to love her. In the midst of becoming a warrior capable of surviving her family, Alaska, hard choices, and the tragedies that rock her world, Leni discovers the true families that love her.

It’s hard to write about this book and not include spoilers, so I’ll stop here and just say that there is a lot of sorrow (ask my Kleenex box about it), growth, and even joy in The Great Alone. For all its pain, this tale is unforgettably uplifting. Highly recommended.

Edited for TMI and again to add in love as an element, since my review overly emphasized the sadder elements of the storyline.
77 comments| 195 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2018
SO depressing. Per the usual, Kristin Hannah has created layered, fleshy characters and an engrossing story, but you really need to be in a good place emotionally to read this one. While many of her books are bittersweet and run the gamut of life’s emotions, this one is pretty bleak cover to cover. If all is stable and calm in your world and you read it from a place of peace and emotional homeostasis, or you need a catalyst for a bawl fest, go for it! It’s certainly an engrossing read and very well written. But if you have a lot on your plate, or more than a bit of emotional stress in your life at the moment, steer clear. Perhaps the fact that it has had such a strong effect on my state of mind is a testament to Ms. Hannah’s storytelling abilities, but I’d unread this, at least for the moment, if I could. I’m so exhausted and bummed out from reading this, I’m having a hard time getting out of my pjs this weekend! Additionally, there are a couple of areas where the plot line is a real stretch, but I think it’s so well-written overall that those things can be overlooked. Still a very good book, but good grief!
33 comments| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
I would have given this a 3.5 if possible. I enjoy many of Kristin Hannah's books. And this book did have redeeming features. It was worth reading, and had some really great aspects. The descriptions of Alaska in the 70's - spectacular. Very interesting about "how to survive" - compelling even. The basic premise behind the story was good also. Clearly well researched. I felt the characters were less fleshed out and well rounded than in many of her other books. Ironically, Ernt, the father, was very well done. A blend of empathy an distaste were my feelings to him - and a horrid fascination with the relationship between the parents. About halfway through the book it began to fall apart. The narrative and descriptions drug on and on; the endless torment and mistreatment was simply ground in over and over. I felt like "ok, I get it!" - and I began wanting to cheat and move ahead because it became so repetitious! I also felt the end of the book was too rushed and too "pie in the sky" in too short of a time. Unrealistic - not that I wanted the outcome changed, but how it was rolled out was trite. All of that said, it was still worth reading and was not a bad read. But not her best - by far.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2018
This is a spectacular epic. A love for Alaska shines through the twisting, turning story of a small family who love and hurt each other. We see the horror of war in it's after effects. The glimpse of life in the 1970's. Our heroine is a child who moves so often she never fits in. Her father is left property in Alaska by his army friend who didn't make it back.
When the story moves to Alaska everything comes vividly alive, the scenery, the characters and the story.
It was everything! Beauty, tragedy, love and redemption. Riveting, horrifying and absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend this soon to be classic.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 13, 2018
The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah is emotion packed and powerful. I had to make myself wait to write this review so I could chew on it, digest it overnight so I could try to do it justice. This book will stay with me for a long time.

Set in the 1970's in Alaska, it tells the story of a family, Lenora (Leni), her parents, Cora and Ernt, who had been a prisoner of war in Vietnam whose experiences had "snapped something in him." Full of pain and suffering and flashbacks before we knew what PTSD could do to a person, and the effects that brought to the people they loved. Through it all, Cora reminds Leni, "Love doesn't fade or die, baby girl." I can almost hear her voice.

Alaska itself and its wildness and beauty is as much a character as the people who are brave enough to live there. I could never do it myself, Southern girl that I am, shivering at the thought of the cold and deep darkness of an Alaskan winter. But Hannah is tempting me to visit one day, perhaps in July!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2018
Rarely in my 50 years of reading have i come across a story that enfolds me into its pages as did "The Great Alone". The character of Leni takes us on a journey where we don't always want to follow. Her story is raw and honest, told through the innocence of a girl coming of age in the tumultuous 60's. Her description of Alaska is like watching a documentary about the state where we are swept from the water up to the glaciers and see a great panoramic of the wild and pristine state. Alaska herself comes alive as a character here, just as detailed and meaningful as any other. I grew to love the inhabitants of Kenaq as if I had lived there myself. The story flows in an often unpredictable way and leaves the reader wanting more. I am so glad I read this book and I can't wait to recommend it to others.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2018
After The Nightingale I was thrilled to get this book in the mail! I dug in right away and was enjoying the descriptions of homesteading so much that I didn’t pay as much attention to the domestic violence part. But that became the whole book and the focus went away from life in the Alaskan wilderness. Hannah is a very talented author but I am so disappointed at the twists and turns in the story! I am two thirds in but felt compelled to stop and warn readers that this should be marketed as a book more about spouse abuse than the Alaskan wilderness.
33 comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2018
3.5 stars
I’m very torn writing this review. I have enjoyed and devoured all of Kristin Hannah’s novels. For years, I’ve looked forward to the annual winter release of a book by the author. This one took two years and it was a long wait. Maybe it was because of the long wait and the power of her last book “Nightingale” that this book didn’t excite me. I waited for a free weekend to be able to sit down and read the entire book because I know you can never put down on of Hannah’s novels.

“Nightingale” had to be one of the best books I’ve ever read. I thought Kristin Hannah was amazing, but that book took her writing and my love for it to a whole new level. It was so epic, that the whole time I read that book, I kept picturing it being made into a theatrical release. “The Great Alone” was entertaining and moving, but it’s more of a Lifetime movie than the feature film I was expecting. Had this book come out last Winter, I think I would have been a little more forgiving.
The teenage love affair was cliché. The characters as always were very developed and the plot was consistent. The time period and Alaskan landscapes were well researched. The last 60 pages were very moving…I teared up.
Bottom line: I would recommend to anyone who likes a good and fast read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
I wanted to like this book, but I just didn't. Admittedly, I cannot put myself in the shoes of the mother but the development of her character did not help me. Because it was written from the viewpoint of a 14-year-old girl, I sometimes felt Hannah wanted to write a young adult book but for some reason didn't. Good description of wilderness Alaska and what it would have taken to survive.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2018
It has been awhile where I read a book that I could not put down. But Kristin Hannah has written that book in The Great Alone. She has also opened my eyes to the beauty of Alaska. I have read other books about Alaska but never have I experienced a love for its beauty. It was always portrayed as dark, cold and dangerous but Hannah has also shown the survival part along with the beauty of its long nights and dangerous places.

And so we meet Leni and her mom and dad. Who set out to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. They are left a house in Alaska from her dad's friend who served in Vietnam with him. And thus begins this family's struggle to adapt to a new land, deal with her father's PSTD and his abuse of her mother. You will learn to love Leni and cry for her mom. You will learn to hate Ernt, the father who cant control himself. But most of all, you will learn to love the wilderness and strength in this story.

A hard life entails and we see how this family along with others survive until it all becomes too much for them. There was romance, abuse, struggles and lots of tears in this story. Many decisions which may or may not have been the right ones. All I know is by the end of this book, one has to ponder and think how strong the characters of this books were considering all that they had been through. And wonder what would you have done if in the same situation.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse