Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno



on February 14, 2017
My neighbor and I were talking and he told me "I noticed you turn your porch lights on at the same exact time every night". I told him I was a robot. Once he considered my statement and determined that I was not in fact a robot, I explained how I had everything on a timer that was built right into the box where the switch once was. Now I can go out of town for days on end and never worry about my house being dark. It just works, automatically. I'm sure in the future there will be a wi-fi enabled version of this product, but for now, it's "set it and forget it". I believe you can also make it operate randomly so your neighbor doesn't think you're a robot. I'm also a stickler for energy efficiency and have this set to coincide partly with the dynamic peak pricing (although all of my lighting is LED anyway).

If you're a father or husband who is always going around turning lights off and mumbling "Who do you think I am? Edison!?" while your wife responds "No, because if you were Edison, I wouldn't have to wait tables at Big Boy", this is the product for you. If you're just an energy efficiency nut who wants to make his neighbors think he is a robot, this is the product for you. If you're a fan of those awful 1990s 2:00am Ron Popeil infomercials with that gaudy rotisserie oven looking thing where he preached "set it, and forget it!", this is the product for you. It's a good product for a lot of people.
33 comments| 152 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2017
I'm using this to automatically turn on and off a hot water circulating pump located in the garage of my house. For Mon-Fri I have it set to go ON at 5 AM, OFF at 9 AM, ON at 3 PM and OFF at 10 PM. For Sat and Sun it goes on at 5 AM and OFF at 10 PM. Only needed to use up 3 of the 18 program setting. Its easy to program and it works exactly as expected. It has a built in battery backup so it keeps track of time and remembers the programming if the power goes out. Has a cool DST feature where you can jump 1 hour ahead or back on the clock by holding the hour button down for 5 sec.

Only issue I had is the back cover is rather deep, I couldn't get everything stuffed back in the original junction box so I had the replace the junction box with a deeper version.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The advantage of an electronic timer like this is the versatility and flexibility of programming, and power failure back up that retains its programming when the power goes out The disadvantage is that these are usually more difficult to program than simple mechanical timers. This one is one of the easier and more logical electronic timers to program. It has worked reliably and quietly. My only complaint is that I wish the display were larger and/or backlit. Because of my old eyes, I need a flashlight to program it. But that's really no problem for as infrequently you need to do this.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon May 9, 2017
This seemed like a great idea for my porch light so I wouldn't have to turn it on and off. However, I didn't realize until I started trying to install it that my old house used two wire (hot and live) electrical lines and this switch requires not only to be grounded (for safety reasons) but to be connected to a neutral wire as well (so it can power the timer itself). For anyone who lives in an older house, check your wires before you order.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2017
Seems to be a good item. However, I couldn't get it to work correctly, nor could I get the outside lights "flicker" to go away. I had an electrician buddy to check it out for me. Even though I have the required neutral wire, he concluded that it wasn't compatible with my house wiring. I was unable to use it and picked up a different style locally. Refund promptly issued, so I was satisfied.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2017
I was able to install the switch without incident, but it does need a three-wire connection (my old timer switch only needed two). I like the design with the programming controls behind a swinging door that also functions as a manual on-off switch. Would be nice if the display was backlit while the device is being programmed; the LCD contrast is not particularly strong. Programming the timer is somewhat kludgy (as is true of most of these types of products), especially exiting the programming mode and returning to normal operation. The programming instructions are printed on the same large folded sheet containing the installation instructions, which usually is thrown away after the installation. It would be really handy to have the programming instructions on a sticker that would fit on the inside of the switch door so they wouldn't get lost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2016
I purchased this timer to control a waterfall pump. The installation was easy and the programming was simple. I particularly liked that you could delete a single program with only a couple of key presses. The display is easy to read both during setup and operation. I did find that the door covering the keyboard was a little difficult to open if you don't have a long fingernail. The timer has been in service for several months and continues to work perfectly. The price was also attractive compared with the old unit it replaced.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2017
Works great and easy to program. Installation instructions could be improved. Comes with 4 wires, black, white, green and red but the light switch it replaced had 2 black wires. The white needs to go to white which were all together in the back of the box. Green to ground, black is hot and goes to black and red goes to whatever you are switching which was also a black wire in my application. Took a little internet time to figure out how to wire this.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2016
I should have looked into these sooner. Easy install, programming could have been a bit more informative in the instructions but we did it! Front and rear lights now go in and off automatically (we purchased a second one) Love it!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2018
These programmable timers are great. I have tried several different models of programmable timers in the past, but have always found them to be difficult to program when it comes time to change the programming (daylight savings time, etc). This particular timer is very easy to use, and very easy to understand and reprogram without having to dig out the instructions every time you need to reprogram it. We purchased 3 of them for all the outside lights, and they work flawlessly. Great purchase!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse