Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno

Oster Cordless Electric Wine Bottle Opener with Foil Cutter, FFP
Color: Silver|Package Type: Frustration-Free Packaging|Change
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 25, 2015
I ordered this for my smokin' hot GF back in 2012... fast forward 3 years later -- this $20 wine opener is still with me and my smokin' hot GF is now my smokin' hot wife. I never thought either one would be with me for this long... but life is good.

We like to have a good time... I mean...we effin' get down on some wine. So this bad boy probably pops open a new bottle every 2 days. It has stayed plugged in to our wall for over 3 years now (I halfway expected the battery would have burned out by now, but nope!). We haven't even had to replace the screw yet --- still works like new --- I'm shocked and impressed this $20 opener has faithfully lasted this long.

Often times you get what you pay for (I know b/c I'm cheap... like... the OG of cheap) --- but this is an exception to that rule --- I have no idea why anyone would pay $50+ for another "more recognizable" brand --- this is packed with all the quality you could ever need. I probably sound like a sound like a PR rep from Oster, but I had to write a review of this little guy when I saw him sitting unrighteously unreviewed in my past orders.
review image review image
1212 comments| 602 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2016
I really liked this opener. It worked really well and looked pretty sleek. I'm in the unique position where I've purchased quite of few of these as gifts for family members and two for myself (my family loves wine). Why two for myself? Well, as it gets older the batter stops holding a charge quite like it used to and we had one run out battery with a cork in it. I'm sure that you're sitting there thinking "LopsidedMidget, don't be a dummy. Just recharge it and *poof* you are absolved of your issue." This would be true.. with nearly any other brand. However, Oster charges by sitting on the stand and a cork gets in the way of that happening. You either have to take the whole thing apart, or invest in a new opener once this happens to you. Of the five that I have purchased for myself and family only one of them is still functional - and that's because my father quit drinking a year ago.

So, why do I still give it three stars? Well, it's $20 and works well until it's inevitable failure. You'll very likely get between 1-2 years out of this guy (hopefully) and you won't regret your purchase once you use it... until you need to open wine and don't have an opener.. I've since moved on and now use the Onzeri one and have realized that this Oster model feels a lot more solid. The Ozeri sounds/feels like it's wheezing out its final breath whenever we use it to open wine. It has lasted longer, but it's feels like it has the motivation of a teenager being forced to do its chores whenever we use it. The saving grace for the Ozeri is that the charge is a cable that attaches to the outside and it doesn't rely on a base to do this, so even if it does with a cork in it we can still charge the opener and eject the cork.
44 comments| 173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
I love this product so much, I bought one for my parents. It is easy to use and convenient enough that it doesn't take too much room on the counter. It also comes with a foil cutter to get the foil off the top of the wine bottle. I like how quiet it is when I am using it and the cork comes out whole 98% of the time. I have had a few times the cork has gotten cracked but not sure if it was the wine opener or the wine bottle having a dry cork. It takes the hassle out of opening wine bottles!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
Does exactly what I expected and was a great price. It does take some effort on your part to keep the device in place, which makes me think it wouldn't be ideal for older people; however, I could be wrong and it might be great for older people. It's a hell of a lot easier than the corkscrew thing with wings (I've broken two of these) and seems like it would last longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2017
I purchased multiple of these and gave them all as present and finally decided to get one for myself after having so much trouble opening wine bottled. Just place the opener on the cork wait a couple seconds and poof the cork is out, no need to struggle to get grip on the bottle or making sure it is screwed in correctly with a manual corkscrew. This opener does what it is made to do no need for frills of the fancy more expensive openers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2017
This is the second one of these I've purchased because I can't imagine life without it! Love it and it has proved to be durable. The last one lasted more than 8 years then just got tired. Great product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2017
This is my second one, best opener I have ever used and have I ever used a lot! Do need a back up though incase the electricity is out. Price is right too! My back up choice is a bartenders style one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2017
This kind of tears up the corks making them less useful in craft projects, but it works nicely at getting them out of the bottles. We used it for at least a couple of months before it needed to be charged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 29, 2017
Its cute but I haven't gotten the hang of this yet. I keep blaming the issue on the cheap bottles of wine but it never removes the entire cork. I end up destroying the cork trying to get it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2016
This is my 3rd electric cork remover and by far the best. The 1st required batteries. that was a pain to keep up with, besides weak performance. The 2nd was a Rabbit. It was rechargeable. but I didn't know when it needed a recharge. It broke after a year or so. Maybe I was drinking too much wine. But I only drink for my health. This one always sits in the recharging stand, so I assume it always charged. It operates smoothly & powerfully. It comes with a foil cuter that stores in the stand. It looks real cool being stainless steel and the light on top.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse