Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals HPC Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



on June 25, 2015
I ordered this for my smokin' hot GF back in 2012... fast forward 3 years later -- this $20 wine opener is still with me and my smokin' hot GF is now my smokin' hot wife. I never thought either one would be with me for this long... but life is good.

We like to have a good time... I mean...we effin' get down on some wine. So this bad boy probably pops open a new bottle every 2 days. It has stayed plugged in to our wall for over 3 years now (I halfway expected the battery would have burned out by now, but nope!). We haven't even had to replace the screw yet --- still works like new --- I'm shocked and impressed this $20 opener has faithfully lasted this long.

Often times you get what you pay for (I know b/c I'm cheap... like... the OG of cheap) --- but this is an exception to that rule --- I have no idea why anyone would pay $50+ for another "more recognizable" brand --- this is packed with all the quality you could ever need. I probably sound like a sound like a PR rep from Oster, but I had to write a review of this little guy when I saw him sitting unrighteously unreviewed in my past orders.
review imagereview image
1313 comments| 702 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2016
I really liked this opener. It worked really well and looked pretty sleek. I'm in the unique position where I've purchased quite of few of these as gifts for family members and two for myself (my family loves wine). Why two for myself? Well, as it gets older the batter stops holding a charge quite like it used to and we had one run out battery with a cork in it. I'm sure that you're sitting there thinking "LopsidedMidget, don't be a dummy. Just recharge it and *poof* you are absolved of your issue." This would be true.. with nearly any other brand. However, Oster charges by sitting on the stand and a cork gets in the way of that happening. You either have to take the whole thing apart, or invest in a new opener once this happens to you. Of the five that I have purchased for myself and family only one of them is still functional - and that's because my father quit drinking a year ago.

So, why do I still give it three stars? Well, it's $20 and works well until it's inevitable failure. You'll very likely get between 1-2 years out of this guy (hopefully) and you won't regret your purchase once you use it... until you need to open wine and don't have an opener.. I've since moved on and now use the Onzeri one and have realized that this Oster model feels a lot more solid. The Ozeri sounds/feels like it's wheezing out its final breath whenever we use it to open wine. It has lasted longer, but it's feels like it has the motivation of a teenager being forced to do its chores whenever we use it. The saving grace for the Ozeri is that the charge is a cable that attaches to the outside and it doesn't rely on a base to do this, so even if it does with a cork in it we can still charge the opener and eject the cork.
44 comments| 197 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 8, 2017
* I have personally purchased this item and I have no affiliation whatsoever with the seller or manufacturer, nor have I been solicited or compensated by anyone associated with this item.

** A word of advice: MANY reviews on this site are paid/solicited reviews OR they are from people that have NO knowledge of the product ... these people review anything and everything simply to get into the Top Reviewers List. I AM NOT one of those people. As you will notice, my reviews are all accompanied by the 'verified purchase' indicator.

Regarding this product: Oster Cordless Electric Wine Bottle Opener
Seriously, I have one of these in each of my 3 homes. I haven't manually opened a wine bottle in years. The unit is very cool, looks nice, and works perfectly. It is electric and it also comes with the charging stand and foil cutter. I ordered this fourth opener for a Gift Exchange party along with a few bottles of wine. Let me tell you, it was stolen 3 times and people were fighting over it. Truthfully, I wouldn't be without one.

I enthusiastically recommend this opener for yourself or as a gift.

I hope I have helped you in some way.
review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2018
When I first saw this wine opener I had a, "I've got to have it moment." After purchasing this item I was in heaven, opening wine bottles was a breeze, the foil cutter is awesome, and I love the long battery life on this opener. I loved this product so much I bought multiple for gifts for friends/family members. 6 months later, the down button (which removes the cork from the bottle) stops working, knowing that Oster aka Sunbeam Products aka Jarden Consumer Solutions has a 1 year limited warranty (stated in product manual) I wasn't worried. I emailed customer service about my issue, 3 weeks later I got a response requesting information in order to process the return. The same day I respond to the email with all the information asked, another week goes by without a response. I email customer service to make sure they received my email with all my information and not only did they let me know they did receive my email but the product was "no longer covered under warranty". I responded to customer service with the exact words from their handbook stating that their product has a one year warranty and have yet to get a response. So if you are thinking about purchasing this wine opener, keep scanning for something else. This is not the one for you.

TLDR; Don't buy this product, it is not made well and customer service isn't interested in fulfilling their warranty.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2017
At first I thought mine was broken but I was doing it wrong!

1. Cut the wrapper with the cutter that it comes with (little loop hooked onto the back of the charger stand).
2. PUSH DOWN ON THE WINE OPENER WITH PRESSURE while pressing the down arrow button as you hold the bottle as well.
3. Once the wine opener feels a little loose, that means the cork is out.
4. Remove the wine opener to reveal the open bottle.
5. Press the upward arrow to release to cork.

CHEERS!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I had the old one for years before a cork got jammed inside and finally killed the unit. So I got the same product to replace it.

HOWEVER, I've already noticed that the charge doesn't last anywhere as long as the old one. I rarely had to charge the old one, and yet it was always ready and always worked. With this one, unless you keep it in the charger and plugged in constantly, it loses it's charge almost immediately.

I don't like it cluttering up my counter and always plugged in. But if I want it to work when I need it, I have no choice. I guess that if I wasn't spoiled by the old unit, I wouldn't be so disappointed. But for me, this brings it down to just an "OK" product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2017
Works great. Hold it on bottle, push switch, corks out, drink wine. Really good if you have problems with stiff fingers or grip issues.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2017
After my Rabbit brand opener handle broke, I looked for a "very easy" wine bottle opener.
The Oster more than easy, this is effortless.
Just press to engage the cork screw with the cork and press to remove the cork and hand me the cork.
Now wonder other reviewers say they only need one hand.
Don't waste your time and money for an opener that requires effort, since the Oster takes no effort.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2018
I like to keep a simple on my reviews and only answer what people really care about. I do not do pictures or videos as I have a job and this does not pay my bills, it is just a way to help the regular Joe like me make an informed decision. I do not get free or discounted products for review, you will get my unbiased review of product.

Does it work?
Yes, I bought this for opening wine bottles and it does not disappoint.

Is it easy to use?
Yes

Pros:
Works as intended

Cons:
None

Note:
Drink responsibly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 2017
Recommended by a friend, we bought one for an elderly person who has trouble managing a wine bottle and a corkscrew to open one up. We tested it for a few weeks and a few bottles, and declare it a winner. Initially, despite the directions, you sort of expect the thing NOT to need downward pressure on the bottle for it to bite into the cork and start its work. So we chewed up the top of the first cork because we didn't press hard enough. Second user-based issue, despite the directions, is that the cork is lifted all the way up into the housing of the unit and you don't know it's done until it stops on its own. We were cool after the first bottle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse