Truck Reviews Beauty Best Books of the Month Men's slip on sneakers nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Fire TV Stick Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Shop by look Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members $0.99 rentals for Prime members  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Find a new favorite show Shop now Start your Baby Registry



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 21, 2016
We tried two popular humidifiers (popular with Amazon buyers) both proved to be difficut to clean and neither model registered any humidity increase (not a personal feeling but no increase according to two accurate hygrometers.) Like many "popular with amazon buyers" products what the humifiers shared was a low price. We decided to pay more for this big brand humidifier with many high ratings from buyers. After running it for a day, my hygrometers register a 12 degree humidity increase in our 12 x 14 foot cathedral ceiling living room. Running the honeywell three months now, I am not getting nose bleeds from our furnace drying out the room and our skin isn't drying to point of skin cracking on our hands.
I deduct a star for Honeywell having a misleading photo in the user guide. It clearly shows a woman wetting the wick filter, bottom only. My spouse did this causing our filter to fail to get wet at the TOP, which MUST be moist always for the humidifier to work. Honeywell knows the photo is incorrect. Hey, it sells the costly filters, at the rate of one a month. the printer makers are out to sell costly ink cartridges with low ink sensors that are set above the halfway point,so owners replace them at the 60 to 50% full level. Likewise, it looks like Honeywell is out to oversell costly filters. This humidifier is simple. Water drops from tank and is channeled past a antimicrobal UV light to the WICK filter, which flows water to the top so the fan can lift it and turn into a fine mist then push it out into the air. TIP. After I explained to my spouse how WICKS work, they last over two months. Each time she fills the tank, she rinses and soaks the filter & flips it to opposite end from where it was in the unit.
840 people found this helpful
|66 comments|Report abuse
on January 4, 2018
I bought this Honeywell humidifier in March 2014, and it runs continuously in the winter months. A few comments, in reaction to some of the very negative reviews posted here:
1. You have to clean the unit regularly. This would be true of any humidifier -- no getting around it. Scrub out the base, which is where the water sits. It is also worth cleaning the dust off the fan blades and the surrounding housing, maybe every year or so depending on your dust levels. You can CAREFULLY pry up the fan cover with a screwdriver to gain access. Make sure the unit is unplugged, of course.
2. You can get longer wick (filter) life by cleaning the wick. I use diluted bleach and soak for a while; this requires thorough rinsing. White vinegar would also work. Don't wait until the wick is completely crusted over with minerals.
3. Noise cannot be avoided, especially on the highest setting. But I have found this to be a reasonably quiet humidifier, and I've had several.
4. If the water level is not going down at all, try reseating the water jug. The valve in the cap must be seated correctly in order to work. Pull up the jug just an inch or so, and carefully lower it. Also make sure the lid is tightened evenly and is not over- or under-tightened.
5. One reviewer noted that mineral-laden well water can cause problems. True! Many humidifiers recommend using distilled water. This is an added cost, but it will keep your wick very clean. I use tap water and I add the bacteriocide that you find on the store shelf next to the humidifiers.
6. Some users complain of inadequate humidity levels. I find the same thing -- humidity in upper 20s instead of upper 30s -- when we have unusually cold weather, because the furnace is running longer. You might also experience inadequate humidity levels if the unit is in a particularly large room. Not the fault of the humidifier -- just the nature of the situation.
I hope this is useful to some of you. I am quite pleased with this Honeywell humidifier.
75 people found this helpful
|11 comment|Report abuse
on March 12, 2017
Humidifiers are a lot of work no matter which one you have. They must be filled daily, making sure the filter is wet, and the unit cleaned weekly, or more, depending on the hardness of your water. I have this is an open hallway of a completely open floor plan of about 1300+ sq feet. The moisture it puts out on low, when the heat is around 70 is perfect (according to our hygrometer). We have no static electricity. I did have to put a baking pan under it...in the carpet...I want to be sure I get no spillage when refilling it. I also made sure it was on a slight angle to keep water flowing into the filter. Read your instruction booklet to keep your filter working properly and getting a couple uses out of it. The filters could be a tad stronger. The color is your calcium folks. Eventually you will have to replace the filter. It runs very quiet. We bought this Jan 5th 2017 and have run it almost consistently since. Take care of your things and they should last. If you hope appliances and such work forever without maintaining things; they just might not work efficiently.
review image
38 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 25, 2015
Have it sitting right next to my bed. On the lowest of the three (3) speed settings, yes it makes a little bit of noise but not enough to keep me awake. I have a $15 Radio Shack humidity measuring device and without a doubt, this humidifier works A-OK. I have mild sleep apnea and bought the unit to help with middle of the night dry-mouth symptoms.
Original filter worked just fine for 3 months of every night use. The Honeywell brand replacement filter seems to get mixed reviews. Namely that the thickness of the filter has been reduced from 1 inch to now shipping units, such as mine, using 3/4 inch thickness filters. Reading filter review on this Amazon site, noted many customers like the filters sold by Lowes Home Improvement stores. One claim was that the thicker filter greatly increased the water usage and therefore more water vapor into the air per hour running. Locally found the recommended replacement filters available at my local LOWES. The brand of humidifier filters are the IDYLIS brand. The part number replacement for the Honeywell Cool Mist Humidifier is IDYLIS #0105460. AND this filter has a metal mesh to support the filter, AND the filter thickness is a full 1 inch thick.
review image
635 people found this helpful
|44 comments|Report abuse
on February 3, 2014
 Please watch the video.

In the video I explain why this is a great humidifier for those who have hard water / well water. The filter does a great job at keeping those deposits of gunk from entering the air. I will say that some water works better than others. Some make breathing easier, or just plain taste better.

From best to worst

1) Distilled water
2) filtered water
3) tap water
4) well water

Obviously well water is the cheapest option, but distilled is the best option. Take a look at the video to see the filter.
review image
1,061 people found this helpful
|1414 comments|Report abuse
on January 6, 2018
The air in my home is really dry, and even more so in winter. The humidity in my house hovers around 15%. My skin and sinuses get irritatingly dry causing the usual bloody noses and such. I ordered this humidifier mainly because it is an evaporative type. They tend not to produce the white mineral dust that the ultrasonic ones do. It can get into electronics and clog them up. I have this unit in my room where I have my high tech PC that contains delicate components that I don’t want clogged with that pesky white dust. So far, a week into use, I’ve NOT noticed any white dust around my room or on the unit’s fan blades, or near / in my PC. The humidity has gone up by around 20% keeping my room at, around 35-37% humidity which is much better than what it was. I’d recommend ordering an off brand filter to replace the one that comes with the unit. It’s thicker and seems to do a better job with putting cool moist air into the room than the original filter. I tend to run the unit all day on high, refilling the water tank 2-3 times. At night I turn it down to medium and the water lasts until I wake up, with a bit of water to spare should i sleep in. Every few days I soak the wick filter in a vinagar/ water solution to get rid of the hard yellow scale buildup. Our water here is very hard. We do use a softener, but scale still is building up on the filter. I also flip the filter everytime I refill the tank to keep the wear on the filter even. So far I’m pleased with the humidifier. It seems well made and is quiet, even on high. Then again, I’m not bothered by fan sounds. To me it’s pleasant white noise. All in all, it’s been a helpful item in my bedroom.
9 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on May 20, 2017
​I will not say this product is the perfect humidifier; however, considering its price and mechanism, the designer and manufacturer did a good/near perfect job. The usual pros and cons do not fit for this review since its features can be useful for someone but annoying for the rest. So, I will discussion it feature by feature. By the way, we bought this product for our seven-month baby.

1. Filter: it is the REASON we consider this product in the first place. We had two ultrasonic humidifiers before, but we were no longer able to stand the white smoke came out of them. Thus, filter humidifier it is. Some review pointed out that you may need to soak its filter every night, but it is not the experience we had. Maybe become we always left some water in the tank before turning it off in the morning. However, we still soak the filter just in case. It is not that difficult, and I like the feeling monitoring the filter condition and knowing how much dusts it has filtered out for my son. The vapor coming out of this device is colorless as expected. Really can't complain anything on that side.

2. Power/effectiveness: it is a filtered fan-driven humidifier, so getting a room saturated in humidity is nearly impossible (even for my baby's tiny room). However, it is not hard to get our master bedroom to a comfortable 70%. I would call it effective but not very powerful. At the end of the day, I bought it for comfort, not for power.

3. Fan noise: fan noise is audible at medium speed and is loud at high speed. However, we bought it for our baby, and that worked out for us since the white noise coming out of the fan make him sleep better than before. However, if you are looking for something ultra-quiet, stay away from fan-driven ones.

4. Device cleaning: this is the part that I do not think there is any disagreement. It is very simple to disassemble and quite convenient to clean. The two humidifiers we had before always had some sediments in the corners of the device that is impossible to clean. The UV light comes with this device also make me feel safe (though you need to change it every one or two years).

In conclusion, it is the perfect humidifier for us. We are considering to buy two more for the rest of the house. However, it is clear that some people will prefer ultrasonic ones over this one due to power and fan noise.
9 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on December 5, 2015
I like this device and it works pretty good for putting the moisture back in the air in the natural way - via evaporation - during winter heating season. During this time the furnace is doing its job by taking the moisture out of the air and since all the windows are closed most of the time (as you don't want to take in a lot of cold air and make your house cold) the external air intake is not enough to replenish the moisture even in such a "wet" place like here in Seattle. Your skin goes dry, eyes itch and nasal passages feel uncomfortable. With dry air you are more prone to get an airborne infection. Finally when we installed a smart thermostat that also shows the humidity in the air and it showed unhealthy 30% humidity I figured out that humidifier is an important "life support" system you need to have in your house when its cycling the air inside during the winter.

The device is bigger than ultrasonic humidifiers we had in the past but for a good reason - since it relies on natural way of water evaporation and you need larger surface contact area with the air to make it work. Ultrasonic humidifiers work in another way - they force the water vapor in the air by exciting the water with ultrasonic membrane so it bursts in bubbles which break and release mist in the air. The assumption here is that tiny droplets of mist have much larger contact with air (this is what the big filter is for in this device) and evaporate quickly in dry air. But the problem is that some of them don't - and those land down on the floor near the ultrasonic humidifier making it wet and leaving mineral residue from the water droplets around the device. Another problem with ultrasonic humidifiers - they put equal amount of moisture in the air regardless how humid the air is. If the air is dry - it pick more moisture from the mist, less dry air - takes less leaving more to land back on your floor around the device.

This device is free from those pitfalls of ultrasonic humidifiers. It evaporates the water in the air in the natural way, like everything else exchange the moisture around you. It just speeds the process in two ways: (1) by increasing the contact area with the air with large filter made of strings of porous material that pick the water from the bottom tray using capillary action; (2) by increasing the volume of dry air the contacts with the filter by blowing through with the fan. Because of this natural process the amount of moisture it puts in the air depends on how dry you air is. It never puts more moisture in the air that the air cannot take, so the floor around the device is never wet and no mineral residue.

The device is very simple - the bottom tray which feeds the water to the filter, the filter that evaporates the water and the water tank that feeds the water to the tray through the valve and main body that houses 3 speed fan and UV light. I thought the device will be warming water so it is easier to evaporate, but it does not. Because of this simple design the cleaning is easy.

Now about the filter - as you can see it is most essential part of this device. To make it last longer you need to understand how it works. It pulls the air from the tray using capillary action. When filter ages, is capillary get clogged with minerals from the water. So it starts drawing less water. So the more mineralized water you have the less filter life you are going to have. You can try using filtered water - but I am not sure how economical it would be - it consumes a lot of water and filters also cost money. So maybe it will be cheaper to buy a new humidifier filter than buy water filters more frequently. Another factor is fan speed - it is better to opt for slower speed with aged filter because it won't be able to draw as much water and will dry out and minerals in it will solidify aging it more faster. I noticed that even with new filter and top fan speed the topmost part of the filter gets dry after a couple of hours of runtime. So avoid running at top speed - and it produces definitely audible noise in this mode.

As for the noise - I find that at top speed it's pretty noisy - you can definitely hear it running if you are in the same room. Middle speed (recommended by the manufacturer as a regular operating speed) is audible if you are few feet away from the device. Low speed is barely audible.

I am skeptical about UV light feature if it is useful at all. Think about it - it is supposed to kill germs in the water that flows from the tank to the filter. But that water comes right from the tap (the same water that you drink) and the tank is refilled every day. But the part where there are much more germs - the filter - is not getting any UV light and is in constant contact with external air that brings new microbes all the time. So when the UV light goes out, I do not think I want to spend money on replacing it.

Last point - this humidifier is listed as 'single room' humidifier but if you place it in the room where you have air return it can affect the air humidity in the whole house. Humidifier was off for the night today and the thermostat in the other room was showing 43% humidity. Turning the humidifier on with middle speed (it is located close to furnace air return) and turning on the furnace fan after that for a while brought the humidity reading in the other room up to 48% in about an hour.

Hope this review is helpful. Thanks.
24 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 13, 2018
Southern California has a dry climate. The relative humidity in our house is 24% to 32% when there is no rain (which is nearly always). I acquired the Honeywell HCM350 to increase the relative humidity. The unit is not suitable for a whole house. We use it in a room that is 16 feet by 20 feet with a 9 foot ceiling.
The HCM350 is a cool mist filtered humidifier. It uses a paper or cellulose circular filter which is made from multiple sheets of paper cut into lattices. These sheets are glued end to end together so they form a chimney. The overall thickness of this chimney is ~0.5 inch and it is ~5 inches tall. Inside the HCM350W, one end of the filter is soaked in water (coming from the removable tank). On top of the filter, there is a fan which pulls in dry air from the room. That air flows over the outside of the soaked paper chimney, becomes humidified and then exhausts out into the room again. The whole principle is simple.
It says germ free because inside the HCM350W, there is a small UV light bulb that turns on when you turn the fan on. Water coming from the tank flows under this UV light before it touches the filter. I am unsure as to how truly germ free it is.
The HCM350 has 3 fan speeds. I only run it at the lowest speed which is very quiet. To my ears, it is < 35dbA. At this speed in the above room, the relative humidity increases by ~14% to 37-46% when the filter is brand new. I have a separate device to measure the RH in the room. I just use tap water. After about 4 weeks of use. the filter will harden up and yellow out due to deposits, and as this occurs the efficiency of the HCM350W goes down. After 5 weeks of constant use, the room RH only increases by ~6%.
Note that each day, when I refill the plastic tank, I will flip over the filter chimney so the opposite end is soaked in water. You will need to do this since the filter end that is not soaked in water will dry out and that will hurt the longevity of the filter. Also, after 3-4 days, I will remove the filter and soak it completely in tap water for 15 minutes. I do not clean or soak it in diluted vinegar because I think that will just dissolve the glue holding this paper filter together. After 5-6 weeks of constant use, the chimney will gradually lose its shape and shortly after you will need to replace it with a new filter.
In the above room, under those conditions, running constantly I have to refill the tank once per day.
Overall I rate the HCM350 to be an effective humidifier and I am happy on the performance aspect.
However the design does require a certain amount of maintenance on the filter. The operating cost will be high because:
-each new filter will cost ~$8-10. Assuming each one will last 1.5 month, you are looking at $65-$80 each year if you live in a dry climate. You can buy replacement filter from vendors on Amazon or directly from Honeywell. In the long run, you will spend much more on filters than on purchasing this unit. In my view Honeywell should think about offering a more durable filter design.
-Be aware the UV bulb is rated for 300 hours of operation. You can buy a UV bulb replacement on Amazon (but not directly from Honeywell).
Due to the high operating costs, I remove one star from my rating.
5 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
on March 7, 2017
While touted as environmentally friendly, the filters contain QUAT, a disinfectant to which I'm sensitive. Causes breathing problems like chlorine does. And it took quite a time on the phone with customer support to finally get an msds for the filter which does list it.
12 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse