Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 25, 2015
Have it sitting right next to my bed. On the lowest of the three (3) speed settings, yes it makes a little bit of noise but not enough to keep me awake. I have a $15 Radio Shack humidity measuring device and without a doubt, this humidifier works A-OK. I have mild sleep apnea and bought the unit to help with middle of the night dry-mouth symptoms.
Original filter worked just fine for 3 months of every night use. The Honeywell brand replacement filter seems to get mixed reviews. Namely that the thickness of the filter has been reduced from 1 inch to now shipping units, such as mine, using 3/4 inch thickness filters. Reading filter review on this Amazon site, noted many customers like the filters sold by Lowes Home Improvement stores. One claim was that the thicker filter greatly increased the water usage and therefore more water vapor into the air per hour running. Locally found the recommended replacement filters available at my local LOWES. The brand of humidifier filters are the IDYLIS brand. The part number replacement for the Honeywell Cool Mist Humidifier is IDYLIS #0105460. AND this filter has a metal mesh to support the filter, AND the filter thickness is a full 1 inch thick.
review image
22 comments| 422 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2014
Please watch the video.

In the video I explain why this is a great humidifier for those who have hard water / well water. The filter does a great job at keeping those deposits of gunk from entering the air. I will say that some water works better than others. Some make breathing easier, or just plain taste better.

From best to worst

1) Distilled water
2) filtered water
3) tap water
4) well water

Obviously well water is the cheapest option, but distilled is the best option. Take a look at the video to see the filter.
review image
1414 comments| 942 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 2012
I have had this humidifier for a few months now and use it in MY bedroom as well as my 15 month old twins' bedroom. I had an Ultrasonic humidifier (filter-less) but discovered the 'white powder' effect after using one (google it).

PROS:

(1) It's quiet! Yay!
(2) It doesn't change the temperature of the room even though it's a cool mist humidifier
(3) I use one of those gadges to see if it's humid enough in the room and this machine definitely works
(4) The filter doesn't need replacing THAT often (maybe every 6-7 months or so)
(5) The tank can sit in the sink to be filled and doesn't topple over
(6) Super easy to set up and use

CONS:

(1) It's pretty big and bulky
(2) I hope the UV light to kill germs is working because I don't see it anywhere

I would definitely recommend this cool mist humidifier though!
1515 comments| 1,120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I got this humidifier to replace our Vornado humidifier as we've now gone through two of those in the past 3 years. Granted that may be good, but we wanted to try something else as Vornado products aren't exactly cheap. So far so good, we live in a very dry climate so we have this puppy running all the time. It provides great background sleeping noise, but isn't too loud, at least not for my husband and I (nor our pets). Overall so far so good.

P.s. the only worry I have, and will adjust my review if it is an issue, is the disinfecting lightbulb. If anything happens with that I hope we don't have electrocution problems as water and electricity aren't the best of pals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2016
I bought one Honeywell Germ Free Humidifier about 3 weeks ago and like t so much that I ordered another one which arrived today. These humidifiers have many pluses and, so far, I have not encountered any minuses. The .first one is in my bedroom and it has helped a lot with dryness, especially in my nose but also on my skin; there is a low hum, especially on high, but it's not distracting and certainly doesn't keep me awake. It is sleek and not obtrusive. It is very easy to assemble, clean, and refill. Several other reviewers have mentioned that the filter gets a bit discolored but I have followed directions and cleaned the humidifier and rinsed the filter each week and there is no discoloration, perhaps because the water here does not have a high mineral content. I was a bit concerned that filter replacement might be costly but, unless the filter suddenly starts to discolor, the filter probably will not be replaced this season. The price is reasonable. No smell of mustiness or staleness--just a fresh smell and a softer feeling to the air. I would buy another Cool Mist Humidifier in a heartbeat (I'm thinking about one for the guest bedroom) and highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2015
This is the best humidifier I have had. The operation is very simple. Easy to refill and clean. Filters are inexpensive, easy to replace. I have mine set on a timer so it runs through the night. Even though I don't close my bedroom door completely, it maintains good humidity at the lowest setting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2015
So far so good! Have had it for several days now. Low setting is very nice. It's not completely quiet but doesn't bother me and I'm a light sleeper. Medium is about as noisy as a small fan and high isn't much louder. I keep it on low and it easily lasts all day. The only note worthy problem is I suggest keeping it on a flat surface. If you can't keep it on a flat surface make sure the take/control side is on the upward slant so the water can flow down correctly to the fan. It will not work properly if the water cannot get to the fan side. Final note is if you have hard water it does ware on the filter quicker. Otherwise, easily to fill and would highly recommend. Glad to be sleeping right again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2015
I love the fact that this humidifier runs a long time on one tank of water. I just don't like that you can't run it on any speed other than low if you want to hear anything but it . The filter is a normal paper filter and doesn't hold up well. I run this machine 24/7 and take it apart at least once every 2 weeks and give it a good cleaning and soak the filter in a white vinegar/water solution to clean it. I don't know if it is due to the light in it that it doesn't build up all that yellow and red gunk you get from other humidifiers but other than the noise and cheap filter it does a great job. My house is a open setting where the small dining room and kitchen are only separated by a half counter and it does do a job at keeping the humidity around 35 % where I keep a smaller older style humidifier going in a single bedroom to keep the humidity 40 %.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2016
After going through a couple of cheap VIcks humidifiers, I decided that it was time for something better. I did a lot of research and ultimately purchased this Honeywell Humidifier. I was hesitant to spend $50 on a humidifier and was almost deterred by the fact that it had a filter that I would have to replace semi-regularly. However, I am very pleased with the purchase. I have had this humidifier for over a year and it is still in great working order. I only run it when my daughter has a cold, and I have replaced the filter twice in the span of 15 months. I love that the humidifier does not leave behind hard water deposits like my last few humidifiers. The tank is large and usually lasts for a couple of nights. I have absolutely no complaints about this humidifier. Okay, maybe one... it is quite large. But that's not a big issue for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 27, 2017
Attractive, relatively compact, really smart refillable reservoir design, and the ultraviolet light seems to be effective. No problems in the first month, worked perfectly out of the box. The output is modest but adequate to maintain humidity in a 350 sf area with high ceilings. In order to keep that area adequately humidified when the furnace is running a lot, I have to run the unit 24/7 at its highest fan speed. That would be fine except that at high speed the fan noise is noticeable - not really obtrusive or objectionable, but definitely noticeable. On medium it is totally unobtrusive and on low it is virtually inaudible. The unit's one quirk is that the air flow, which is upward out of the top, is largely split into two different directions by the fan housing - but that doesn't appear to be intentional and you can't adjust the direction of the airflow other than by rotating the entire unit. But considering the unit's overall intelligent design, reasonable price, and effectiveness, I'd buy it again. I would rate it five stars (or even gladly pay a few bucks more) if the fan were a little quieter at high speed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse