Oil month Automotive Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 90 reviews
on October 8, 2017
I found the sailing parts of the story both the most interesting and the most frustrating and disappointing. Matt Rutherford's claim to fame is that he sailed non-stop around the Americas, a truly amazing and marvellous feat of determination, skill and endurance and courage. Anyone doing that feat would deserve to be celebrated, and we would want to know how he or she did it, what were the preparation, the logistics, the navigation. That he also came from a troubled childhood and adolescence was remarkable as well.

Like some others, my initial interest in the video was in how it was done and especially in the combination of the boat and the man to perform it. I found out about the video through the website of the American Vega Association. There are not many small sailboats that can be handled by one person that could make the voyage. Amazing that it did it. As Matt said in the video, by the end of the voyage almost all the equipment on the boat was damaged, destroyed or useless. That seems in part due not just to the strain of the voyage but to Matt's lack of preparation of the boat--there was no shakedown cruise, no testing of equipment, no familiarization! So only when the first wave washed over the boat did he find out that the deck fittings leaked! Matt's impulsive character enabled him to undertake the voyage. His strength and skill and determination enabled him to survive it. I would have liked to see much more about just how he did it.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2016
I thought this was going to be about him sailing. It was really just about him as a person. Hey, I even have some of the same "disabilities" and upbringing issues (tourettes, adhd, etc...) that he had (which is what most of this movie is about), but even I thought it was kind of boring. I mean, the movie is being sold as this guy sailing, but the actual sailing information and/or filming is nearly non existent. They mention it a little bit at first, but they spent like, 5 minutes on his entire trip around South America. Really quite sad seeing as they are selling this as a sailing adventure and rarely mention sailing at all. This movie is about him as a person, NOT his sailing voyage.. which is very unfortunate. I expected much more from this documentary.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2017
Great Story!
Matt should be an inspiration to all young people.
Put down your phone.
Turn off that video game console.
Stop complaining about how everything is soooooooooo unfair.
Pry your lazy ass off the sofa and go do something with your life.
There is a whole world out there and you don't need anyone's permission to go find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2016
I dont think this amazing guy with ADHD expected that he would do so well and be so warmly welcomed and congratulated by so many people for his accomplishment in sailing around the Americas and in the smallest boat ever too!
Really shows you with determination and a WILL you can do what you set your mind to, even if you fall backwards, you get back up and push ahead again and again and again....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2016
Good movie to encourage a young person to straighten up. Lots of info about his mental disabilities, ADHD etc. Surprise twist about his early childhood upbringing. Too bad there was not more about the actual sailing. Barely mentioned the type boat, draft, displacement, and nothing about plotting the trip, sail assortment, best day's distance, nothing about the Pacific travel till around the horn, bare mention of the bird life or nothing about fish caught. Did he go near the Galopinos (sic) etc. Seeing his actual travel log and sailing decisions depending on weather would be great. I guess the video camera captured that. A truly remarkable young man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2018
Thought it would be more about sailing then about his past troubled life. I understand it is his life and he got a documentary made for a great cause. Funny how when there was trouble he said he had but there was no footage during that trouble. Either edited out or was not filming. Cracked rib bruise . Good on him for the cause wished it was more about sailing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2016
This movie was a very pleasant surprise. I met Matt, briefly, at the Sailstice Encinal YC event a few years ago. I knew about his trip but like Herb McCormick, I was a skeptic and thought he was nuts. I came across this movie, last night and was actually blown away by the story. Fascinating portrait of a very interesting person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2017
Five stars! What an inspiring young man. His story is fascinating and his courage and determination are admirable. Great to spend an evening enjoying an uplifting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 2016
Very strong. That guy fought a lot of things that people take for granted. How many people reading this could handle 3 days isolated with no other human contact or speech? He did over 300 days.

Strong.

Great doc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2017
Beautiful film (literally and figuratively) about a beautiful person. Very inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse