Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning movienight movienight movienight  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 80 reviews
on March 9, 2017
A very enjoyable and absorbing documentary. Great to see a troubled young man find his way in life and then achieve something extraordinary. Inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
The documentary is way too long and most of it is not very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
this covers very little about sailing. It mostly just covers this guys troubled life and how his parents think he is something special.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
I thought this was going to be about him sailing. It was really just about him as a person. Hey, I even have some of the same "disabilities" and upbringing issues (tourettes, adhd, etc...) that he had (which is what most of this movie is about), but even I thought it was kind of boring. I mean, the movie is being sold as this guy sailing, but the actual sailing information and/or filming is nearly non existent. They mention it a little bit at first, but they spent like, 5 minutes on his entire trip around South America. Really quite sad seeing as they are selling this as a sailing adventure and rarely mention sailing at all. This movie is about him as a person, NOT his sailing voyage.. which is very unfortunate. I expected much more from this documentary.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
Great Story!
Matt should be an inspiration to all young people.
Put down your phone.
Turn off that video game console.
Stop complaining about how everything is soooooooooo unfair.
Pry your lazy ass off the sofa and go do something with your life.
There is a whole world out there and you don't need anyone's permission to go find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
This movie was a very pleasant surprise. I met Matt, briefly, at the Sailstice Encinal YC event a few years ago. I knew about his trip but like Herb McCormick, I was a skeptic and thought he was nuts. I came across this movie, last night and was actually blown away by the story. Fascinating portrait of a very interesting person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
What a great adventure. If your into sailing or never step on a sail boat you will enjoy Matt's adventure. Something I would never do with out a larger boat, full crew, and stopping for provisions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2016
I was prepared not to like this guy but he won me over pretty quickly. He channeled a rough start in life into a record-breaking accomplishment. If you like sailing there's enough of that in the movie to hold your interest, and if you're after a human interest story there's that as well. I muted the volume on the couple of amateur rap songs done by his friends but to each his own. Overall, this movie is a great find!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
Very strong. That guy fought a lot of things that people take for granted. How many people reading this could handle 3 days isolated with no other human contact or speech? He did over 300 days.

Strong.

Great doc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
An awesome story with beautiful footage of places most of us will never experience. The story itself may help many young people who are confused about their place in the world realize that what others consider limitations may be your greatest strengths.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse