Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 86 reviews
on July 14, 2016
I thought this was going to be about him sailing. It was really just about him as a person. Hey, I even have some of the same "disabilities" and upbringing issues (tourettes, adhd, etc...) that he had (which is what most of this movie is about), but even I thought it was kind of boring. I mean, the movie is being sold as this guy sailing, but the actual sailing information and/or filming is nearly non existent. They mention it a little bit at first, but they spent like, 5 minutes on his entire trip around South America. Really quite sad seeing as they are selling this as a sailing adventure and rarely mention sailing at all. This movie is about him as a person, NOT his sailing voyage.. which is very unfortunate. I expected much more from this documentary.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
I dont think this amazing guy with ADHD expected that he would do so well and be so warmly welcomed and congratulated by so many people for his accomplishment in sailing around the Americas and in the smallest boat ever too!
Really shows you with determination and a WILL you can do what you set your mind to, even if you fall backwards, you get back up and push ahead again and again and again....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
Great documentary, shows what you can do if you are bold, and have a generous heart with limited resources.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2016
Good movie to encourage a young person to straighten up. Lots of info about his mental disabilities, ADHD etc. Surprise twist about his early childhood upbringing. Too bad there was not more about the actual sailing. Barely mentioned the type boat, draft, displacement, and nothing about plotting the trip, sail assortment, best day's distance, nothing about the Pacific travel till around the horn, bare mention of the bird life or nothing about fish caught. Did he go near the Galopinos (sic) etc. Seeing his actual travel log and sailing decisions depending on weather would be great. I guess the video camera captured that. A truly remarkable young man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2017
Beautiful film (literally and figuratively) about a beautiful person. Very inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
This movie was a very pleasant surprise. I met Matt, briefly, at the Sailstice Encinal YC event a few years ago. I knew about his trip but like Herb McCormick, I was a skeptic and thought he was nuts. I came across this movie, last night and was actually blown away by the story. Fascinating portrait of a very interesting person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
Five stars! What an inspiring young man. His story is fascinating and his courage and determination are admirable. Great to spend an evening enjoying an uplifting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
A very enjoyable and absorbing documentary. Great to see a troubled young man find his way in life and then achieve something extraordinary. Inspirational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
Great Story!
Matt should be an inspiration to all young people.
Put down your phone.
Turn off that video game console.
Stop complaining about how everything is soooooooooo unfair.
Pry your lazy ass off the sofa and go do something with your life.
There is a whole world out there and you don't need anyone's permission to go find it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
Inspiring story, but also sad. How many kids are like Matt where the school tries to put a square peg into a round hole. My wife's kids, including herself, never completed their high school diplomas the traditional way. They dropped out and then self learned. Their IQ's are all around 200, which makes me the dunce of the family. Congratulations Matt and thank you for the uplifting story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse